Thursday, October 25, 2012


The former Indian Captain Sunil Gavaskar going to get C.K.Nayudu Life time Achievement Award for the year 2012.  BCCI's award committee today decided to confer Sunil Gavaskar for this award.

From the year 1970 to 1987 he played 125 tests and he was the first batsman who scored 10000 runs in tests and the first to play 100 consecutive tests.  He was also the first batsman to score hundreds in each innings of the test thrice.

Gavaskar will receive the awards at the BCCI awards ceremony.

The committee also decided to honour other seven individuals special award for their outstanding contribution to the Indian Cricket.  They are .. Vijay Merchant, Vinoo Mankad, Dhattu Padkar,  Vijay Manjrekar, Gulam Ahmed, M.L.Jaisimha, Dilip Sardesai.  All each player will receive a trophy and 15 lakhs cash too.

One more feather on their cap..............